Funeral Poem Classics

Funeral Poems

Funeral poems are provided free of charge. Cremation Solutions hopes these funeral poems and poems for funerals will help comfort your families during your time of loss. In addition to the funeral poems listed below, we have also provided links that also provide a variety of funeral poems that are especially appropriate for funerals, memorials and scattering services.When selecting poems for  funerals keep in mind the deceased and try to select the funeral poems that best matches the personality and life of the deceased. If you want to write your own funeral poems, first  take a look at some of our samples of funeral poems below , then search within yourself and search your feelings. Funeral poems come from within. Turning your feelings into the right words to formulate the perfect funeral poem is the trick. Check the writing style and create your own funeral poem with your own words. Write down what you want to say in a piece of paper. Try not to think about the funeral poem at this stage. You should simply speak from your heart and jot it on some paper. Then after finishing your outline, fashion your writing into something that is nice to the ears. Funeral poems should have rhythm. You can use some rhymes to add coherence to your poem. For more see our section on funeral writing tips. Poem that is perfect for the eulogy.

Cremation Urn and Jewelry Gallery Click Here

For Bird related funeral poems and sayings, check out these sites

Funeral Poems

Dust if you must (Good for scattering)

Dust if you must, but wouldn’t it be better To paint a picture or write a letter, Bake a cake or plant a seed. Ponder the difference between want and need. Dust if you must, but there’s not much time, With rivers to swim and mountains to climb, Music to hear and books to read, Friends to cherish and life to lead. Dust if you must, but the world’s out there With the sun in your eyes, the wind in your hair, A flutter of snow, a shower of rain. This day will not come around again. Dust if you must, but bear in mind, Old age will come and it’s not kind. And when you go and go you must, You, yourself, will make more dust. More funeral poems below

Funeral Poems #1 The White Chariot

During your journey on your final flight home.
White wings will carry you and you will be flown.
To the pearly gates of Heaven, where they will usher you in.
To the feet of your Lord, your Saviour, and your friend.
He will hold you in his arms and the angels will sing.
As another one of His children is delivered by white wings. More funeral poems below.

Author: Julie Johnson

Funeral Poems #2 The Final Flight

Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free,
I’m following the path God laid for me.
I took his hand when I heard his call,
I turned my back and left it all.

I could not stay another day,
To laugh, to love, to work, to play.
Tasks left undone must stay that way,
I’ve found that peace at the end of the day.

If my parting has left a void,
Then fill it with remembered joy.
A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss,
Ah, yes, these things too I will miss.

Be not burdened with times of sorrow,
I wish you the sunshine of tomorrow.
My Life’s been full, I savoured much,
Good friends, good times, a loved one’ touch.

Perhaps my time seemed all too brief,
Don’t lengthen it now with undue grief.
Lift up your heart and share with me,
God wanted me now, He set me free.

Author: Unknown,  More funeral poems below.

Funeral Poems #3 A Hopi Prayer by Mary E. Frye (slightly changed)

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there.I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet white doves in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there,I did not die. More funeral poems below.

Funeral Poems #4 To Those Whom I Love And Those Who Love Me

When I am gone, release me, let me go
I have so many things to see and do
You must not tie yourself to me with tears
Be happy that I have had so many years

I gave you my love, you can only guess
How much you gave me in happiness
I thank you for the love each have shown
But now it is time I travelled on alone

So grieve a while for me, if grieve you must
Then let your grief be comforted by trust
It is only for a while that we must part
So bless the memories in your heart

I will not be far away, for life goes on
So if you need me, call and I will come
Though you cannot see or touch me, I will be near
And if you listen with your heart, you will hear
All of my love around you soft and clear Then, when you must come this way alone
I will greet you with a smile and welcome you home.  More funeral poems below.

Funeral Poems #5 Life and Death

Birth is a beginning And death a destination But life is a journey A going — a growing From stage to stage From childhood to maturity And youth to age. From innocence to awareness And ignorance to knowing; From foolishness to discretion And then perhaps, to wisdom. From Weakness to strength Or strength to weakness And, often, back again. From health to sickness And back we pray, to health again. From offense to forgiveness, From loneliness to love, From joy to gratitude, From pain to compassion, And grief to understanding — From fear to faith. From defeat to defeat to defeat — Until, looking backward or ahead, We see that victory lies Not as some high place along the way, But in having made the journey, stage by stage. A sacred pilgrimage. Birth is a beginning And death a destination. But life is a journey, A sacred pilgrimage — Made stage by stage — To life everlasting.  More funeral poems below.

Funeral Poems #6 Goodbye….by N Taylor

The church is full of people who have come to say goodbye But no one wants to see you go And we’re all left asking why In our pain and tears we share A heartache that cannot heal but in our minds we will keep Memories no one can steal We all can feel your hand in ours And see your loving face You havent gone I feel you here A love I cant replace you meant so much to each of us And in our hearts your always be I hope you can see how precious you were To them, to us, to me. More funeral poems below.

Funeral Poems #7 A LETTER FROM HEAVEN…by Ruth Ann Mahaffey

To my dearest family, some things Id like to say. But first of all, to let you know, that I arrived okay. Im writing this from heaven. Here I dwell with God above. Here, theres no more tears of sadness; Here is just eternal love. Please do not be unhappy just because Im out of sight. Remember that I am with you every morning, noon and night. That day I had to leave you when my life on earth was through. God picked me up and hugged me and He said, I welcome you. Its good to have you back again, you were missed while you were gone. As for your dearest family, Theyll be here later on. I need you here so badly, you are part of my plan. There is so much that we can do, to help our mortal man. God gave me a list of things, that he wished for me to do. And foremost on the list, was to watch and care for you. And when you lie in bed at night the days chores put to flight. God and I are closest to you….in the middle of the night. When you think of my life on earth, and all those loving years. Because you are only human, they are bound to bring you tears. But do not be afraid to cry; it does relieve the pain. Remember there would be no flowers, unless there was some rain. I wish that I could tell you all that God has planned. If I were to tell you , you wouldnt understand. But one thing is for certain, though my life on earth is oer. Im closer to you now, than I ever was before. There are rocky roads ahead of you and many hills to climb; But together we can do it by taking one day at a time. It was always my philosophy and Id like it for you too; That as you give unto the world, the world will give to you. If you can help somebody who is in sorrow and pain; Then you can say to God at night….My day was not in vain. And now I am contented… that my life was worthwhile. Knowing as I passed along the way I made somebody smile. So if you meet somebody who is sad and feeling low; Just lend a hand to pick them up, as on your way you go. When youre walking down the street and youve got me on your mind; Im walking in your footsteps only half a step behind. And when its time for you to go…from that body to be free. Remember youre not going…youre coming here to me. More funeral poems below.

Funeral Poems #8 Love Lives On

-Mary Alice Ramish-

Those we love remain with us for love itself lives on, and cherished memories never fade because a loved one’s gone. Those we love can never be more than a thought apart, far as long as there is memory, they’ll live on in the heart.

Funeral Poems for children

Funeral Poems #9 I’ll lend you this little child ..

I’ll lend you for a little while a child of mine God said
For you to love the while he lives and mourn for when he’s dead
It may be six or seven years or forty two or three
But will you ’til I call him back take care of him for Me
He’ll bring his ways to gladden you and should his stay be brief
You’ll always have his memories as a solace for your grief
I cannot promise he will stay as all from earth return
But there are lessons taught below that I want you all to learn
I’ve looked this whole world over in My search for students true
And from the folks that crown life’s lane I have chosen you
Now will you give him all your love nor think labour vain
Nor hate Me when I come to take this lent child back again?
I fancied that I heard them say Dear Lord Thy Will be done
For all the joys Thy child will bring the risk of grief we’ll run
We’ll shelter him with tenderness we’ll love him while we may
And just for having loved him forever grateful stay.
Author unknown at this time.

Funeral Poems #10 A Peek Into Heaven

Just one little peek into heaven,
Is all I’m asking for today.
I just want to know how she’s doing,
And heaven seems so far away.

Is she playing on the clouds with angels?
Is she laughing and running today?
Does she miss me?
I guess only she knows.
Oh why does heaven seem so far away?

If you just let me look for a moment,
To catch a glimpse of her sweet smiling face,
I promise I won’t try to take her,
I know, she’s in a better place.

Just one little peek into heaven,
Is all I’m asking for today.
I just want to know how she’s doing,
And heaven seems so far away…
Callie Sanders Thornton
Copyright 2006 Callie Sanders Thornton

Funeral Poems #11 With Time

“The pain will go away, with time”
“It won’t be so bad, after awhile”
So say these friends of mine…
But they have never lost a child….

The pain will never go away
Yet it softens some, with time
My child is gone, it hurts to say
I’ll never be “just fine”

Tho another year has come and gone
I hold your memories in my heart
They dance there, as if to song
From that I know I’ll never part

As time goes by year after year
And the pain begins to soften
I know that it’s alright to tear
And live with my memories, more often…..
Callie Sanders Thornton
Copyright 2006 Callie Sanders Thornton

Funeral Poem #12 I Am Me

I’m torn, and broken
No matter how I appear to others
How high I hold my head up
Or how my words are spoken
I will never be the person
That I use to be
And no matter how I appear to others
Head up, strong spoken
They have no idea who I am
I am me
Not who I appear to be
Callie Sanders Thornton
Copyright 2006 Callie Sanders Thornton

Funeral Poems #13 Destiny

You have gone, you’ve left me, why did you go away?
I’ve tried to figure out what I could’ve done that day,
But nothing can change destiny, no one is to blame.
And this so called life I’m living will never be the same.
So many things unsaid and things I didn’t do.
But as long as I have memory I will remember you
Callie Sanders Thornton
Copyright 2006 Callie Sanders Thornton

Funeral Poems #14 For my son ….

Even though it hasn’t been long
Since the day that you’ve been gone
People tell me, ” time will heal……”
But not having you here seems so unreal.
I feel like I’m living in a dream –
Then reality hits……and I want to scream:
You are my baby , my first born – my son
And with your short life, I know I wasn’t done
With teaching and loving and caring that’s true,
And all of life’s treasures I wanted for you.
I keep thinking what would I do,
If I had another moment to say I love you.
How would I fill that moment I long of,
Except with words conveying my love.
I can’t be thankful for what I have not –
But do try and be thankful for all I got.
The time with you so short and sweet,
You always were “mom’s special treat.”
Lord – my strength is ebbing from yesterday,
Please fill my cup of strength for this day.
Show me the stairway that I have to Climb,
Lord….. for my sake,
Teach me to take……….
One day at a time.

Copyright 2006 Cyndee DeLong

About Jeff Staab

Jeff has been a funeral director and councilor to the bereaved for over twenty years. He has been a leader and innovator in creating meaningful celebrations of life and designer of urns for ashes and jewelry for ashes. He is the founder and president of Cremation Solutions, a company that assist funeral professionals and the families they serve with funeral planning information as well as a resource for urns for ashes and jewelry for ashes. Cremation Solutions is the #1 resource for information on scattering ashes. Jeff is a pioneer in the process in establishing guidelines for those who are cremated and choose scattering as the final disposition. He has developed methods, ceremonies and scattering urns for the ash scattering event. Cremation Solutions has the most complete line of scattering products as well as cremation memorials. Cremation urns and new products that add dignity and ease to the cremation scattering ceremony. Jeff is a expert in memorial goods such as cremation urns for ashes and cremation jewelry for ashes and cremation monuments that holds ashes. As an educator to the death care industry he has written for industry publications. He lives in Arlington, Vermont. He enjoys adventure in the mountains and on the sea, cooking for friends, social responsibility and green living. He can be reached at jeff@cremationsolutions.com
This entry was posted in Funeral Poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment